A Fish and Fowl Day

6 Jan

So my morning didn’t go as planned (do they ever?).  I spent the morning trying to figure a solution to my apparently broken refrigerator as opposed to making breakfast… I did, however, see it as a perfect opportunity to consume my last egg before it spoiled from the lack of frigidity… 😉  And yes, that’s Tabasco all over my egg.  Mama likes her some spice!

I lunched with one of my favorite fellows at Shogun in Salinas.  Tasty, as per usual…  I went with some pretty typical stuff (I am a creature of habit- a large part of me creating this blog was to challenge myself to eat new things) and ordered miso soup, tako sashimi and an unagi avocado roll.

I went out for drinks and a movie (saw Black Swan for the second time, and it was even more amazing the second time!) and ended up at London Bridge Pub afterward.  I hadn’t been in since their remodel, and let is be said they really did a nice job.  The pressure of my food choices being an “inspiration” (as referenced in yesterday’s post) got to me immediately, so I ordered the following for good measure.  If you subscribe to this blog, please get used to seeing a lot of wings.  I take my wings very seriously…  Next time, I promise to provide before and after pictures- should be amusing 🙂

What do you all want to see phoodfotos of?

5 Responses to “A Fish and Fowl Day”

  1. Maighie January 6, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    How do you feel about wings next week in Portland ?? I’m feeling lots of pressure to ensure a fantastic dining experience since I know it will be made public!! FIre on the Mountain is supposed to be pretty darn awesome: http://www.portlandwings.com/

    • phabulousness January 6, 2011 at 11:15 am #

      Love that plan! Phoodfotos goes to Portland next week, folks!

  2. inspired January 6, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    you are cracking me up with the pressure to be an inspiration! So sorry about that! But even with wings, this isn’t a bad day! On the days I’ve kept a food journal, I write down breakfast, lunch and dinner, but I am alarmed when I also have to write down the 12 ritz crackers I ate at 9, the swedish fish I ate at 11, the cheese & crackers at 3, – or even the batch of chocolate chip cookies I made for “dinner”. I also have never really given much thought to my “good” choices in terms of their nutritional balance and you’ve had lots of color and lots of veggies – which is inspiring! I often get my color from the pink heart, yellow moon and green clovers in my cereal…. So through this blog, you have encouraged me to think about what I’d have to photograph every day and whether or not I could live with those choices – and the answer is, probably not! So you are inspiring me!

    • phabulousness January 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      Dear Inspired,

      I guarantee the Ritz crackers and Swedish fish will show up as the months go by… It’s also been amazing looking at the store and on menus so far and trying to determine what is “pretty enough to eat”. Oh the insight I am gaining! Thank you so much for your support and encouragement!

  3. Nikki Lacues January 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    i want to see Phood Photos with Phriends !! I would also like to see how many words with F you can turn into “PH”‘s :).

Leave a Reply

