Why I blog…

27 Jan

Breakfast success again!

Working lunch as part of a five hour long meeting…  I think the second piece of pizza was justified by that alone.

One of my readers has asked me to share a bit of my motivation for creating phoodfotos.com.  I was motivated by a myriad of things that I will mention as time marches on, but now for a big moment of truth…

The phoodfoto below is a recreated snapshot of the moment I officially decided to make the blog a reality:

Here’s the back story:

I work long hours… partly because I believe strongly in what I do, and partly because I don’t have a family to go home to at a decent hour.  On top of that, my memory is not the best, and I get sucked into projects like you wouldn’t believe, so often I forget to feed myself on my more productive days. More often than I’d like to admit, I leave the office past 9pm too tired to attempt to cook (and let’s face it, my fridge- when it used to work- is normally empty) and too late at night to go out and grab a bite but starving because I’ve made poor eating choices all day.  As this occurred more and more, I came up with the best solution I could.  I researched nutritional information for a few different fast food restaurants and identified the grilled chicken strips at Jack in the Box to be the lesser of most evils.  So when I had those late nights, I started to use that as a dinner Plan B.

That was over a year ago.  In early December 2010, I pulled into the drive-thru to pick up my normal order.  Before I could open my mouth, the staff member (who I by then knew by name) knew exactly what I was there to order, and kindly thanked me for my repeat business- the third time that week, he said!  He also warmly greeted my puppy, who he knew by name as well.

It was a wake up call- one  I wasn’t really ready to hear, but it lit a fire to change my ways.

I fell back into my old routine today, and even though I had vowed to stop my late night trips to Jack in the Crack, I repeated my old behavior one last time.  I have been both amused and overjoyed by the popularity of phoodfotos so far, and I am hoping my readers will help me keep myself accountable to making better efforts with my eating habits.

Can I count on you, phoodies?

5 Responses to “Why I blog…”

  1. Mary Spani January 28, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Love the blog,you can count on us!

  2. Chris Araujo January 28, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    My advice: buy a crockpot. Start it in the morning and when you get home, your meal is ready and waiting for you. Just don’t burn your house down.

    • phabulousness January 28, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      I am a HUGE supporter of the Crock Pot as well, and have often times said that when I get enough time, I’m going to write a cookbook that reclaims the Corck Pot for the modern woman. That being said, I leave the house at 8am and return typically around 9:30pm, and I have yet to find great recipes that want to be cooked for that long. Also, I am the polar opposite of a “morning person”, so I need something that requires minimal prep in the morning. Suggestions certainly welcome!

  3. inspired January 28, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    love, love, love this. And it is precisely why I love your blog because it has made me more aware of actually *thinking* about food (as opposed to just eating it). And in photographing it, I am guessing it makes you consider portion as well as quality. I really do admire your committment to it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Phuture of Phoodfotos.com « phoodfotos - December 19, 2011

    […] the brainchild of my 2011 new year’s resolution (see this post if you’re curious about the birth of the blog).  It’s been a roller coaster of a year (see this post for an example of when it was really […]

Leave a Reply

