Things I Love

14 Feb

Phood.  Phriends.  Portland.

…will add to this list as time goes by 🙂

 

Friday…

was a painfully early morning, as I caught the first flight to Portland (my phavorite B&B in Gilroy was booked, so I had to hoof it all the way from home at the crack of dawn)!

On my way to class, I picked up lunch at Country Grains in Wilsonville for myself and two phriends.

We all had the same thing- the BBQ Chicken Wrap.  I can’t say enough about how much I like this place.  Everything we’ve tried on their menu has been tasty, the people are super nice and the price is right.  The apples, carrots and cookie come with the whole thing for a whopping $6.95.  Works for me!

It was a good thing I philled up at lunch, because I went out on the town in downtown Portland that night.  Maybe it was something in the air, but I had such a phabulous time, I phorgot to eat.  So since I have no phoodfotos to show, I thought I’d pheature the cocktails I did remember to have.

Typhoon, which is attached to the hotel we stayed in (Hotel Lucia) offered up this tasty Thai Gimlet (I subbed vodka for gin) with muddled basil and lime.

Down the street at Saucebox, I shared these festive libations.  If memory serves, one was named something Kickboxer related, and the other had to do with me spending some quality beach time with the one and only David Hasselhoff.  Maybe it was the Hoff who distracted me from eating… or not.

Saturday…

Now, math and I are not phriends normally, but it is Valentine’s Day weekend, so I suppose I can spread a little love with the following equation:

Bed+Breakfast= 🙂

Snack during class provided by one of my phavorite phood phans 🙂

Chicken Noodle Soup for lunch, which really hit the spot on a rather blustery day.

After class, a few of us planned to go to coffee down the street.  The coffee place was closed, so we settled for the most logical substitute: margaritas!

We shared some chips and a “Cheese Crispy” with some very delicious unlabeled hot sauce.

Phine dining often occurs under bridges, right?  Exactly.

A phew turns down some back alleys and a trip past a dumpster or two, and we arrived at Montage.  After a short wait in the lounge (that is phully stocked with board games) and a Moscow Mule cocktail, we settled in at a communal table and I let my phella do the ordering.

He won the most points for this suggestion- a New Zealand poached mussel shooter.  Unbelievably phabulous!

I’d never had alligator prior to this, so it was nice to discover that the Gator Bites with Black Bread were quite delicious.

The Crawfish Beignets with Creole Mustard were equally great, and it was at about this point that I slipped into a bit of a phood coma.

On top of the great cocktails, awesome atmosphere, tasty phood and phenomenal company, the service was great.  We took some of our victuals home with us just so we could partake of the aluminum foil artistry Montage is known for…

 

Sunday…

Started the morning with some coffee and a little ciabatta nibble.

We then ventured to North Portland originally to try Tasty n Sons but were lured in by the amazing smells and sounds coming from the door of EaT: An Oyster Bar.  We knew we’d made the right choice when we discovered the B.Y.O.B. pheature on the menu (Build Your Own Bloody).  Yes, please!

My phella and I split the Eggs Sardou and the Hangtown Fry.

The Sardou pheatured two poached eggs atop artichoke hearts on a bed of creamed spinach and Hollandaise.  I’d never thought to use artichoke hearts as a substitue for English muffins, but holy hell, Batman!  This was definitely delicious, and had the eggs been poached just a bit less, it would have been off the charts phabulous.

The Hangtown Fry pheatured fried oysters over a scramble of eggs and bacon.  The cormeal crust on the oysters was remarkable, the buttered baguette was decadent and the eggs were pretty darn good, too.  Between the two of us, there wasn’t a thing left on either plate by the time we left.

I had to head to the airport after our decadent dining discovery… thankfully, it kept me phull the rest of the day.

I’ll be back, Portland.  I’ll be back.

2 Responses to “Things I Love”

  1. Gabe February 14, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Looks like a very successful trip. I first experienced the wonders of alligator meat at the KPIG Cajun Chomp & Stomp in Aptos in the late 80s, but didn’t get around to cooking with it myself until a few years ago. Keep up the great work!

    • phabulousness February 14, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Thanks, Gabe! It certainly was!

      I had the opportunity to have crocodile in Nairobi in 2005, so I was really excited to add to the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

