Eat It Out

16 Feb

If today had been competing in an Olympic trial, on a scale from 1 to 10, it would have been lucky to earn a 3.0 from me.

Having an audience for my eating choices has helped me curb my unhealthy eating habits.  Normally, when I have days that make me feel like the dog more than the hydrant, I eat it out.  My primary weakness is carbs, followed by carbs and rounded out by… you guessed it… carbs.  I’ve never had much of a sweet tooth (as you avid phollowers have probably inferred by now) so we’re talkin’ bread, pasta, milk- stuff like that.  Sign me up for a massive soft pretzel with mustard any day of the week.

So today was one of those days, and while I do feel slightly ill hours later, I don’t feel the slightest bit guilty.

Gino’s Minestrone is always a solid choice… and on a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, soup always seems right.

When I ordered the Fettucine Pesto at Gino’s, it advertised pine nuts not raw walnuts.  Not a big deal for those without food allergies (not that I would know, because if Foodallergylandia was a real place and not just a mythical hell hole  in my mind, I would be their High Priestess) but in my world that’s not okay.  The icing on the cake was that I was so busy wallowing in my bad day, I had eaten a decent portion of the dish before I noticed.  Hooray for that.

Instead of doing what I should have tonight, I went to the grocery store (which was rather overdue).  I decided comfort food was the way to go when I found this in the bread aisle (because of course, I was in the bread aisle…)  My Gramma used to serve me this exact brand of honey as a kid, and I’d never seen it in a store.  It inspired me 🙂

With my spun honey at the ready, I combined the forces of bread, peanut butter and milk to harness the power of phabulous.  At home, I even dug out the old juice glass I drank from at Gramma’s. Gotta love the 1970s color palette!

Yes, I went a bit crazy on the peanut butter, but the phull, happy pheeling that resulted made my lame-ass day feel just a little less lame.  I think I’ll go watch cartoons now…

2 Responses to “Eat It Out”

  1. your cousin :) February 16, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    that honey / juice glass just took me back to 98… thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

