Sexy Eggs, Silky Cheese & Cupcakes

15 Apr

I am a phirm believer that there are phew things sexier in this world than a perfectly poached egg.

I overdid this one just a wee bit, but it still got me all hot and bothered. 😉

I had a phabulous phriend visiting this weekend, and we went to a beach party prior to dinner and a concert.  With all that going on, I phorgot about lunch.  The group of pholks we went to dinner with selected Little Napoli in Carmel.  I was skeptical, as I’ve always considered it to be a tourist trap and little else, but I was pleasantly surprised by the phood.

Pepe’s Famous Garlic Bread, according to the menu, is made from a 100 year old recipe passed down from the Pepe phamily.  I don’t know if I’d go so phar to say it was a recipe worthy of being held onto for so long, but it wasn’t too shabby.

I love burratta when it is done well, but I’m also a skeptic as I’ve had it done so poorly so many times.  (Translation- please don’t waste your time ordering the burratta across the street at Luca.  It is a large part of why I have become a skeptic.)

This silky and wonderfully rich and creamy burratta, however, was pretty darn delicious!

My phriend who was visiting is one of my very phavorites to dine with because we always share what we order (and this person is also one of the most ridiculously phunny pholks I’ve ever had the pleasure to know, so that’s nice, too.)

We tried the Pizza Abbruzzese- goat cheese, basil pesto and sundried tomatoes.  Super yum!

The rest of the evening offered plenty of ridiculousness, the highlight of which was most probably my decision to bake cupcakes around 1am.

Thankfully, I had the good sense to NOT eat one… but I did do a lovely job on the decorative icing and arranged them all on a cupcake tree stand.  I also enjoyed the surprise phinding them in my kitchen on Sunday morning 🙂


Leave a Reply

