Grilled Cheese, Revisited

26 Apr

A study in November 2009 conducted by scientists in Barcelona, Spain suggests that regularly consuming skim milk with cocoa rich in flavonoids may reduce inflammation and slow or prevent the development of atherosclerosis. However, the study notes that its effects are not as pronounced as seen in consumption of red wine.

Sounds like justification to me!

The pumpkin seed pairing seemed like a good idea when I raided the liquor store next door.   Not so much when the conflicting phlavors raided my mouth.

A phriendly phellow treated me to lunch at Dudley’s where we both had my phavorite- the Beggar’s Banquet.  They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but you can tell a lot from the title…  the soup tasted as good as it looked (translation: awful).  Must have been an off day, as I normally really love this joint.

My grilled cheese compatriot had dinner waiting for me when I got home from a late night at work- two more recipes from the phabulous grilled cheese cookbook we’ve been tackling this month.

This tasty little treat pheatured Italian Crusty Bread, Truffle Oil, Fontina and Taleggio cheese. Oddly, the main ingredient that I am 99.9% sure was in it (which was meth disguised as a sandwich ingredient) was not listed in the recipe.

The second sando enveloped cremini mushrooms in a mixture of heavy cream, Fontina and Parmesan with garlic on Phrench bread.  Enjoyable yes, but it was like Nick Lachey showing up to the Justin Timberlake party.  Both rocked my socks off in high school, but only one of those phine phellows has a solid spot in my phantasy life.

Do you think a grilled cheese sando is capable of bringing sexy back?

If not, you might want to try my little truffled phriend…

One Response to “Grilled Cheese, Revisited”

  1. Emath April 27, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Ooooooh…… I don’t really go ga-ga for truffle oil but that sexy number above would be welcome in my guts anytime!

Leave a Reply

