I wish I had a Leningrad Lizard…

27 Apr

Wednesday morning, I woke up craving won ton soup.  So, of course, this is a picture of won ton soup from my phavorite hole in the wall Chinese joint in Salinas, right?

Wrong…  I phailed to remind the nice pholk at the restaurant that I couldn’t have shrimp in mine.  I brought the steamy styrofoam back to the office without checking. 😦

A phew minutes later, I’d negotiated a very kind lunch trade with my phabulous coworker.  If only there had been a Snack Pak up for grabs!

Rio Grill (a long time phavorite of mine since I discovered the Leningrad Lizard) has been up to some exciting stuff, and today was their grand reopening after 27 years on the Peninsula.  Chef Cy Yontz has created quite the new menu (or so I hear, because while anyone who was anyone enjoyed the phiesta, I was outside raking in the cash and never even made it in the door).

A good Samaritan was kind enough to drop some nibbles by… and I would have to say that if they were any indication, Cy done good.  I’m planning a trip inside sometime very soon.

As you phollowers have discerned, I’m a highly restrained eater, so it was rather shocking that I wasn’t disgustingly phull after the bites at Rio… or take that and reverse it.

A phellow and I decided to night cap it at Mundaka in Carmel so I wouldn’t waste away…

We started with Croquetas.

The house bread- rubbed with tomatoes- went nicely with the Boquerones.

Speaking of Boquerones…

…and a dish of Coliflor to top it off (serious horseradish in this guy- YUM!)

I enjoyed a glass of the vinho verde with the meal, which always makes me a very happy camper.

I think it was well-deserved after the phailed soup attempt and the painfully prolonged moment of pheeling like Davy Crockett at the Alamo while working the check in at the Rio event.

Good times…

2 Responses to “I wish I had a Leningrad Lizard…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Margarita Madness « phoodfotos - May 16, 2011

    […] Grill for dinner.  I’d been looking forward to experiencing Chef Cy’s new menu since the event I attended (but never managed to get myself inside for) in […]

  2. Michael’s and Mundaka « phoodfotos - May 23, 2011

    […] phellow had never been before, so I ordered Croquetas even though I had them not too long ago.  Delicious as per […]

Leave a Reply

