Tasty! (N Sons)

5 May

Phriday was a BIG day, as it was the day of phinal defense of my graduate school portfolio.

I credit the leftover Bridgeport Brew Pub pizza I scarfed down for breakfast as we rushed to school with the brain power necessary to succeed.

I celebrated my successful defense in the time-honored tradition that scholars maintain…  that, or a group of us went to the only place around still serving breakfast (which was a Shari’s Restaurant– what can I say other than “when in Wilsonville”) and indulged in a horribly caloric (and sadly not one that possessed phlavor that would warrant said level of calories) second breakfast/lunch.

(I HATE the concept of “brunch”, hence why I refuse to use it in this context, or any for that matter…)

I phorgot my camera so had to use my phone for the shots at Shari’s.  The biscuits were not so hot.

The bacon was… well… bacon, therefore it was stupendous.

During class that afternoon (and yes, I still have a month of class even though my portfolio is complete), I noshed on this tasty nibble of goodness that was so kindly provided by one of my phellow cohortians (as was the party blower thingamajig)…

Then we REALLY celebrated!  The girls & I went out on the town and tried a restaurant I’d been meaning to for quite a while now.

I’ve heard an awful lot about Tasty N Sons.  Rarely do I believe the hype on any subject- most especially phood.  I’d attempted to go here back in Phebruary (with the late phella) and it had been packed (which ended up all well and good because that allowed us to discover Eat: An Oyster Bar in all its splendor.

So where do I start?  I went on a bit of an ordering phrenzy…

I started with a Ruby Platino signature cocktail (el jimador tequila, ancho chili, cassis, grapefruit & lime).  Hellooo, nurse!

We split the Phried Cauliflower & Olives with harissa cream- a truly intriguing blend of phlavors and textures.

We then shared the Pierogi with rhubarb compote & horseradish cream- What a combo!

I literally licked the plates of each starter (true, I have no shame)…

I then went for a second round with Tasty’s cocktail list and tried the Ginger Lime Rickey.  It was, well, for lack of a better term, tasty! 😉

I was high on phood just walking in the door, so I ordered with reckless abandon.  I should have known I was phully enamored with the spot when I phound myself ordering what the waitress recommended- Pork Cutlet with spaetzle & egg…

  I HATE pork. (Yes, I understand bacon comes from pigs… but in my reality they are entirely unrelated phood groups.)

Despite my belief that I hate pork, I scarfed down literally every morsel of edibleness on the plate with phervor.  The crisp english peas combined with the creamy, chewy spaetzle and the citrus on the pork all covered by a beautiful ooey gooey egg???  Come on, people!  This was some seriously phabulous stuff!  I even sent my compliments to the chef, which I normally pheel is a little pretentious (why should my opinion matter to the guy- he’s the expert, I’m just a glutton!), but after my piggish behavior, I think I may have phelt a need to justify.

We ended the meal with a phew Chocolate Potatoe Donuts…

Those little globules were the least tasty moment of the Tasty N Sons experience- just a little boring after such edible excitement.

Also, when I want a donut HOLE, I will order one.  When I want a donut and you tell me I’m ordering a donut, I’d like it to arrive in the shape of an O.  It helps me to get into the proper mindset of “O my God, why am I allowing myself to gorge like this!?!”

3 Responses to “Tasty! (N Sons)”

  1. Hp May 5, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    I am pretty sure that this may be my favorite post I have read yet. (Key word is yet)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Phoodfotos Graduates! « phoodfotos - August 3, 2011

    […] fraiche, tarragon and crispy shallots became my dinner.  I’ve had spatzle on the brain since Tasty N Sons, and while I did enjoy Tasty N Sons’ interpretation of spatzle a wee bit more than […]

  2. MARCHing to my own beat. « phoodfotos - June 28, 2012

    […] awesome trip to Portland (including some of my very, very phavoritest pholks and Tasty n Sons, Deschutes,  Red Star Tavern, St. Honore, Pok Pok and the phamed Hawthorne phood […]

Leave a Reply

