Whelmed

16 May

The last of the Easter leftovers phinally met its demise.

Now, I’d never pretend to consider doing a crazy thing like going vegan on you people, but does anyone else pheel like this ovum is giving me the ol’ yellow eye?

The Big Cheese was in a celebratory mood this morning and brought in homemade cookies (her son phinally picked a college, and if I do say so myself, he made a great choice- my alma mater!)

They were much too chocolaty for my distinctly non-phemale taste buds, but the coconut aspect was unexpected and made it an overall enjoyable experience.

A phavorite lunch buddy of mine (who is also currently nickname-less) accompanied me on my New Restaurant Wednesday exploration.  I’ve noticed the sign outside Sang’s Cafe for years now whose sandwich board says John Steinbeck ate there proudly emblazoned in red and black letters.

Here’s hoping that it was better when he was a patron, otherwise I think the man was a literary genius with no taste buds.

Not to be unkind by any means, but this was, hands down, the worst burger I can remember in my life.  It was unseasoned and overcooked, and the patty was formed into the shape of a hot, hot mess.

From a strengths-based perspective, the bun was very phresh and there was a hefty serving of avocado included atop the sapless sirloin.

I ate a small portion of it and all the bacon.  They didn’t screw the bacon up, so maybe this would be a good breakfast place?

I had a late dinner at a phriend’s house after work, homework and other daily delights.  I stopped by Whole Paycheck to phind something for us to munch on and was pretty hard pressed to phind anything that offered the winning combination of healthy and appealing.

When I got to her house, she had goat cheese and crostini waiting.  Thank you, God, for giving me phriends who pheed me!

I settled on a roast chicken and an oddly wintery kale salad with cranberries, almonds and tomatoes with a citrus vinaigrette.  I think it would have been half decent sans tomatoes, but nobody seems to ask my opinion on these matters.  Odd, really…

I was not overwhelmed by the dinner, nor was I underwhelmed.  So if one can be simply “whelmed”, that is what I was.  My stomach begged to end the evening on a high note, so I revisited the goat cheese (and had two more than were pictured in this shot).

I hope next week’s New Restaurant Wednesday proves more successful.

Side note to Whole Paycheck: I am really not a phan.  I will continue to give you chances (and inappropriate portions of my paycheck for the sake of convenience), but I think you’re kind of lame.  No offense… well, sorta.

2 Responses to “Whelmed”

  1. itsybitsybrianna May 16, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    the chocolatey coconut cookies look amazing!
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Erika May 16, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Haha, we heart the Whole Paycheck….which probably ‘splains why we’re to poor to dine out 87 times per week. That, and our utility bills. =)

Leave a Reply

