Cinco de Montrio

17 May

Before I begin today’s post, I’d like to say how phlattered I am that another local blogger is taking the time to consider her opinion of phoodfotos.  If anyone pheels so inclined to share their thoughts, you can view her post here.

Thursday, the phifth, phlew by!  My coworker was kind enough to bring me some nibbles from Nob Hill so I didn’t skip both breakfast and lunch.

I had meetings after work (in preparation for the Derby Party) and barely made it home in time to go right back out- with a phellow.

He made reservations at Montrio, and we shared the Braised Short Rib Risotto with English peas and brie before moving on to main courses- pretty darn tasty but phell seriously short on pea presence.

I opted for the Roast Duck Breast with sweet onion potatoe galette that was not so phabulous, but thankfully the company was.

We ended the night with cocktails down the street at Crown & Anchor.  Attempting to be mildly ladylike, I ignored the voices in my head screaming for an order of wings for dessert.  Although he’s probably going to read this, so there went that plan…

3 Responses to “Cinco de Montrio”

  1. Ken May 17, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    OOOh! I love the short rib risotto! Did you enjoy it with one of Anthony’s phabulous cocktails? Heads up: this week he’s working on bringing molecular gastronomy behind the bar with a liquor/”caviar” cocktail. Check it out!

    • phabulousness May 17, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      I’m just learning there are special cocktails to be had there! I shall have to return… although the dirty martini I did have was quite enjoyable…

  2. Jean May 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    That Montrio meal looks phantabulous! I have to remember to get down there into civilization (Monterey) sometime for a meal.

Leave a Reply

