Prolonged Celebration

19 May

I didn’t grow up in a leftover-phriendly phamily.

In phact, my mother, for some reason completely unknown to me, refused to plan meals ahead of time and would trek to the grocery store every day before deciding what we’d be having for dinner.  The concept of putting what was left in Tupperware and reheating it the next day just wasn’t part of how we did things, and while I have been cooking for myself for quite a phew years now, I still have yet to become an equal opportunity eater when it comes to leftovers.

That statement went completely out the window after the soul phood pheast provided me with an assortment of the most phabulous leftovers a girl could ever dream of.

What did that lead to, you ask? Phried eggs over mac & cheese for breakfast, of course (with a side of cornbread and PigWizard bacon to boot)!

My dear phriends, Paper Bag and Alabama, both brought me watermelons as birthday gifts, and thus, the “I Carried A Watermelon-Tini” was born.  I credit the rehydrating properties of the watermelon for the lack of a hangover on Monday after an entire weekend of drinking…

We took Gramms out for dinner at Joe Rombi’s to celebrate Mother’s Day.  For the phirst time in the now phifteen years I’ve been a patron of Joe’s, I ordered something different off the menu.  I started with the Rollatini Caprese (minus the tomatoes).

The soup of the evening was Split Pea, which is normally never a phavorite of mine, but they did it well.

The house bread is never short of highly enjoyable.

And the Petrale Sole special was special enough to have turned my affections away from my tried and true Pasta Puttanesca.  I didn’t regret the substitution for a moment, amazingly enough!

Of course, I had to have at least one tiny bite of the Puttanesca, or it wouldn’t be a trip to Joe Rombi’s!

We phinished off the evening with a massive slice of their phamous Lemon Cake (just for you, Dr. Wang)!  It was borderline ridiculous.

All in all a pretty damn phine birthday weekend, and my birthday wasn’t even until the next day!  Hooray for justification of prolonged celebration!

One Response to “Prolonged Celebration”

  1. Karen Wang May 21, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    Awwww… Makes me feel like I was there with you!!

Leave a Reply

