Broccoli Juice! Are You Crazy??

24 May

I attended the Women’s Fund Breakfast at the Hyatt Regency in the morning and used my phone to quickly snap this shot so all the strangers at my table were not overwhelmed with my own strangeness…

We have a phreakish number of staff birthdays in the March to May range, so Sparky and Hard Hat (the non spring babies) made everyone lunch!  Sparky even roasted each little beet in its own little phoil jacket.  Impressive AND yummy!

All the other birthday pholk had to choke down disgusting carrot cake from The Buttery in Santa Cruz… gross, right?  Thank GOD I was saved such hell and was treated to this decadently moist Black Bottom Cupcake.

Sometimes I actually enjoy being allergic to pineapple (ok, ok, not really, but Bubble Girl needs to take it where she can get it…)

(As a side note, I once tried to name my Calico cat “Black Bottom”.  I phailed at the effort when nobody could understand why, and we ended up naming her something much more creative… “Calico Cat”)

A phew of the staff worked an expo in Salinas in the afternoon/evening, and we took a moment to wander around the event and see the best of what’s around.  I made two totally excellent discoveries…

One was a local company that makes every phlavor of juice you could imagine.  I tried Broccoli juice, and believe you me, it was actually quite palatable!

The second totally excellent discovery was La Plaza Bakery, who had quite the spread of tasty treats, ranging from all sorts of pastries to the little sando that was introduced to my tummy.

We’re quite excited to go try this place in real life!

When I got home, I was too exhausted to cook or go out, so I retreated to the phridge to phind something tasty… and did I ever!

Who DOESN’T think pie for dinner is completely legit?

Ok, that was a rhetorical question.

One Response to “Broccoli Juice! Are You Crazy??”

  1. Karen Wang May 25, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I love the Buttery!!!

Leave a Reply

