Ratatouille

30 May

One of my phavorite things about eating is that it can be such a social activity.  Every day, I look phorward to sharing phood with phriends… which may be part of the reason why I’ve never gone out to eat by myself.  I decided to venture out of my comfort zone and give it a try when I was attending a class in Monterey.

I headed to The Wild Plum (where I hadn’t been in phorever!) and ordered my phavorite salad on the Peninsula- their Chicken Caesar w/ Nana’s Bread.  I settled in by the window with a textbook and had a highly enjoyable meal.

Who knew eating alone could be so pleasant?

The Republican came over to make dinner which turned out to be quite the undertaking.  He took on Julia Child’s recipe for ratatouille and phollowed it to the letter.  Thankfully, neither of us mind eating late, and we bought appetizers.

I brought the truffle brie and grapes, and he brought the Full of Life Mushroom & Carmelized Onion Flatbread Pizza.

That Julia Child really didn’t like to cut corners.  The Republican was lucky to have such a great support staff. I was an excellent supervisor.  Each step was so colorful, I documented it along the way…

The tomatoes took him the longest.

I really don’t know how that chick from The Julie/Julia Project kept her wits about her (other than by drinking plenty of Gimlets).

The phinished product was delicious and paired wonderfully well with the movie we had selected… Ratatouille, of course!

And no Phrench dinner could be complete without a phresh baguette (this one way from Paris Bakery).

I think both Julia Child and Chef Gusteau would have been proud…

One Response to “Ratatouille”

  1. Michelle Benoit May 31, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    I LOVE ratatouille! You inspired me to make a batch.

Leave a Reply

