Blogger Phail

21 Jul

Epic phail in the blogging department.  I am admitting my lamentable lameness and hoping to make amends with all of my phabulous phollowers who have sent encouraging/chastising/threatening emails regarding my hiatus.  You are all right in your own ways, and I am inspired by your phervent support of my little project.

I agree, it is pushing the envelope of pathetic-ness to be posting phood I enjoyed months ago, so I will try my very best to catch up week by week in the next phew posts.  Keep the scathing email threats coming though, so I don’t lose phocus! 🙂

Ok, here goes…

Monday, May 30 (Memorial Day)

Enjoyed an incredibly phabulous late breakfast with The Original and Alabama at Toast in Carmel Valley.  Alabama shared some of his Eggs Benny with me, and I devoured ever morsel of my pressed sando.  I sh*t you not, it was one of the best sandos I have ever had… no joke.

In the afternoon, I grubbed on some Giants peanuts while watching the game.  Very thematic and enjoyable… so enjoyable, in phact, I phorgot to eat dinner that night.

Tuesday, May 31

I threw together a quick cheese quesadilla at the office.

Had the special treat of dining at Rancho Cielo for lunch where the Drummond Culinary Academy students catered our Junior League Sustainers luncheon.

Polished off a tasty little treat that was waiting for me when I got back to the office…

Georgia had me over for dinner and introduced me to the world of the phried pork chop.

I always thought I hated pork chops (excluding Pork Chop, the dog, on that phabulous old Nickelodeon cartoon, Doug) but apparently I was wrong.  Actually, I thought I was wrong once, but I was wrong…

Wednesday, June 1

Went with a little Subway breakfast action in the a.m.

Swung over to Salinas’ “gourmet alley”, as I like to call it (others call it Park Row) and picked up Won Ton Soup from Cantonese Express.

I went two rounds with it…

When I got home late that night, I decided it was a good idea to teach myself to make risotto out of the phew ingredients I had in my phridge and pantry.  Oddly, it turned out pretty terrific!

Thursday, June 2

I tried to branch out and try something new for breakfast.  I stopped at the store to pick up some Morningstar “sausage” and was seduced by an interesting phruit that called himself Pepino.  Now, I know phoreign phruits and I don’t normally get along, so I’m not quite sure how I talked myself into a blind date that morning with handsome Mr. Pepino.  Let’s just say it was quite the opposite of love at phirst bite.  Well, now I know what to add to my ever-growing allergy list!

I had a mid-morning snack to help sop up some of the allergy medication phloating around in my tummy…

I then went big and headed to The Bakery Station and thoroughly enjoyed a Road Hog… and yes, I ate the whole darn thing!

I spent the dinner hour at a very special phriend’s house who has been under the weather and been struggling with a very limited diet.  I brought over the goods- chicken, taters, gravy and carrots.  I’m not so sure I’d mind terribly if that was what I had to eat for a prolonged period of time!

Phriday, June 3

Did you know June 3 was National Damn Donut Day?  Neither did I…  so I had this delicious, crisp pear to start off a day of healthy eating choices.

Then some jerk (a.k.a. The Republican) showed up at the office with these…

I started by making myself a small and sensible sampler platter…

Then decided one tiny bite more wouldn’t hurt…

I then COMPLETELY gave up (a.k.a. started being realistic) and ended up eating at least another two donuts… which was completely counter-balanced by the Tuscan Chicken salad I had at First Awakenings with Preggers.  (Hey, a girl can dream!)

Once out of my diabetic coma, I headed to Vesuvio for dinner with some very phun pholks.  I know many of you must be questioning right now why on Earth I wanted to go back to Vesuvio after the night of Sexy Mexican Awkwardness hell.  Why invite PTSD into your life, right?  Well, what can I say other than I like to live on the edge.  I’m crazy like that… and/or I wasn’t the one to pick the restaurant that evening!

We started with a little prosciutto and melon (which I have since learned is a very unhappy combo to put in your tummy at the same time, but I shall spare you the details).

I snagged a bite of buratta from someone as well.

I tried the Ziti Al Forno for my main.  Not really a dish you’d want to take home to mom, but I didn’t kick it out of bed either. 😉

Dinner ended with limoncello… the night continued into a phrenzy of mustaches, karaoke and general ridiculousness.  Good times…

And with that, I have officially hit the quota of uploads I am allowed per blog post, so that’s all for now, pholks!

3 Responses to “Blogger Phail”

  1. Hans Poschman July 22, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    You return! If not for the phact that I saw you at dinner the other night taking photos of your phood I would have thought that this project was dead and gone.

  2. Michelle Benoit July 25, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Ahhh, all’s right with the world again! Missed you, cookie.

  3. Megan Miller-Morgan July 27, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Thank you. I was wondering what was happening to my weekly digests. Great work!

Leave a Reply

