Last Trip to Portland

30 Jul

Phriday morning, June 10, I checked out Point Pinos Grill for breakfast with my phavorite Bistro Babe.

I tried the Eggs Benny (I always order this when trying a new breakfast place because in my book, if you can’t make a great Hollandaise, you shouldn’t be allowed to call yourself a breakfast place…)

Chef Dory Ford, while not quite Jeffrey’s caliber (which I use as my gold standard), did quite a good job- the potatoes were super tasty, too!

Then Pops picked me up and we headed to the airport- for graduation weekend in Corvallis!

We celebrated at SJC with really crappy Bloody Marys and even worse pizza…

A pleasant phlight and an unending traffic line down I-5 later, we arrived in Albany, where we would spend the night.  We met two phriends at Clemenza’s Italian Cafe for a late dinner that started with antipasti.

They had a visiting chef at the restaurant (Chef Matt Morse) that evening, so I tried his tomato soup.

Not half bad with cuter presentation that I had prepped myself to expect from Albany.

The Pasticcio di Polenta or Polenta Lasagna with sausage and mixed mushroom sauce tasted almost as great as it looked.

Very pleasant surprise!

The cheesecake came compliments of the house and was nicely light yet phlavorful.

After dinner, we headed down the street to Vault 244 for drinks.  I didn’t take any fotos of the cocktails (bad lighting for it) but I am still raving about the “Liquid Pearl”, a cocktail of house infused ginger vodka, momokawa pearl sake, lime and simple syrup.  I had two…  and would have gone for at least one more had we not had a wake up call in phive short hours…

Leave a Reply

