The Phloors Always Win

2 Oct

Sept 6- Sept 11 consisted of me consistently phreaking out over the massive amounts of crap I have accumulated over the years and hold dear for all sorts of illegitimate reasons.  It was also a week of learning that while hardwood phloors are something many desire, they are not just cleverly named… the are, in phact, rather hard, and when you drop your trivial yet treasured tchotchke on said phloors, the phloors always win. But I digress.

On Sept 6, I started the day with the tried and true breakfast o’ champions, a leftover piece of cold pizza.  It phelt very bachelor pad of me as I used a box as a table.

I escaped to my yard for a bit of respite in the afternoon and ate an orange right off my tree.  Not sure how or if the novelty of this will wear off…

The Phella took a study break at night and we tried Sushi Unlimited.  I opted for edamame and Tokyo Poki.

Edamame = undercooked and unsalted 😦

Tokyo Poki = savory and satisfying 🙂

(I apologize for the crappy quality shots- phorgot the camera and had to rely on the iPhone in dim lighting.)

Sept 7 started with a slightly more legitimate breakfast, as I stopped by Trader Joe’s to make my fridge pheel slightly less bachelor-ish.

I bought some mini whole wheat bagels and jalapeno yogurt cheese which paired nicely.

The Phella and I went out to dinner at Bistro 33, a popular local spot which I plan never to return to.  Mind you, this is not because the phood was bad (it wasn’t anything special but it wasn’t terrible by any means), but they do not allow dogs on their outside (and rather expansive) patio.  This is unacceptable to Phooey and myself, so I agreed to go once before Phooey moved to town (he took a two week vacation with Pops while I moved in and went on a phew trips).

Their Baked Hazelnut Crusted Goat Cheese with Andouille Sausage and Rustic Tomatoe Sauce lacked (as phar as I could tell) both hazelnuts and sausage and was really more of a tomatoe dipping sauce with some cheese in it.  Tasty but did not live up to the description in any way.

The Kobe Sliders w/ gouda and phried onions were moist and phlavorful… but cost $13.95 for just two.

The phries were good- I won’t lie.

The Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps had nothing buffalo about them, but the concept was a clever one and the celery salad was the highlight of the meal in my eyes.

After dinner, I indulged The Phella’s penchant for phrozen yogurt and headed to YoloBerry for dessert.  I mixed it up and added rainbow sprinkles this time.  I’m wild and crazy like that.

Sept 8 started with a phamiliar breakfast…  balanced on a box (but notice an EMPTY box… progress!)

I made dinner for The Phella’s study group that night and used a curry mix that Pops brought back from his travels east (that was coriander-phree!)

Simple but not bad if I do say so myself…

Sept 9 called me to San Francisco for a bit of phun in the phog!  Paper Bag’s birthday needed to be celebrated, and what better way to do so than watching a Giants/Dodgers game?

My raspberry breakfast only took me so phar, so we stopped at the Real Phood Company when I arrived in the city and picked up some nibbles.   I went with the chicken salad, although it really should have been called an apple salad with a chicken afterthought if you ask me.

Paper Bag made a great catch at the game!

Keeping with tradition, I indulged in a Giants Dog and some beer.  I have yet to see this defined anywhere in phine print, but I am quite sure it is illegal to watch a baseball game without eating a dog… just sayin’.

Nothing marks the end of a good night (at least in my definition of the world) than a slice of pizza.  Golden Boy in North Beach certainly hit the spot!

Sept 10 was a day of some phantastic phood!

In the morning, Paper Bag and I met phriends for breakfast at Caffe DeLucchi.   The artichoke hash was EXCELLENT.

The Phella and I went out to dinner at Seasons Restaurant in Davis.  I am always skeptical of restaurants that are attached to hotels, because I typically see a lack of motivation to create repeat customers.  I am happy to report that I have phound this place to be an exception to my rule.  Good work, Hallmark Inn!

Their bread sticks, while not quite as tasty at Cantinetta Luca‘s in Carmel, were pretty similar and darn delectable.  I may or may not have had phour.

Very rarely do I clean a plate phaster than The Phella, but I polished off these peaches before he could ask for a bite (or maybe he did ask but I was too engrossed with my edible enjoyment…) Really unphreakingbelievably delicious!

I did manage to snag a bite of The Phella’s wedge salad.  Thumbs up!

But my pickled beets and bean salad was better… 🙂

Unfortunately I was so phreaking phull by the time my Petaluma chicken chop came around, I hardly made a dent.

Dessert was out of the question after that marathon of mastication!

The morning of Sept 11, I had a handful of peanuts as I packed up enough to travel for a week.

The Phella and I picked up sandos at Safeway that were on sale.  Nothing to write home about…

…but the coconut we tackled made for quite an involved lunchtime activity.

I then left The Phella and Davis and headed back home to Carmel Valley to play for the week.  I got a late start so used that as justification to indulge in a tasty drive-thru dinner on my journey.

I really don’t know that I could handle living somewhere where In-N-Out isn’t.

Yeah, pretty sure that’s a definite.

Leave a Reply

