I’m Officially a Schmuck!

26 Oct

Who’s got two thumbs and internet at home?  This girl!  So by virtue of my last post, I am a schmuck.  Hooray for me!

I know, I know, having internet at home is incredibly cutting edge.  What can I say?  I’m livin’ large- and even considering installing an indoor toilet next.  Right after I find an oven…

But man, oh man, is there catching up to be done.  So here goes.

Sept 24- Apple for breakfast from Pops’ tree

Quiche Lorraine & Salad at Ciocolat for lunch after shopping/strolling through the Pharmers Market in Davis

Phrozen Yogurt from Cultive in the afternoon heat

Take out from Taste of Thai for dinner so I could have the distinct pleasure of watching the Ducks game <insert sarcasm here>

Phresh Spring Rolls

Tom Kha Soup

Pad Se Ew (Thai Spicy!)

Sunday started with a slice of Jewish Rye I bought at the Pharmers Market, which turned out to be not quite as delicious as I had envisioned…

Leftover Tom Kha soup for lunch

I made Chicken, Lentils & Brussels Sprouts for dinner at The Phella’s house

Monday, Sept 26- The phirst day of the last week before I have a job again 😦  Oh well, all dreams must end at some point or they’d be reality, right?

Started with a perfect poached egg on rye

Ridiculously candy-esque phigs as a mid-morning snack (which I also picked up at the Pharmers Market)- they sort of blew my mind…

… and a watermelon radish & cucumber salad for lunch

Had a mid-afternoon hankering for something warm, so I made some egg drop soup

The Phella wanted Chinese for dinner, so we headed to Ding How (recommended by a previous Davisite)

It only seemed appropriate to try their egg drop soup as well. (Shh- don’t tell, but mine was definitely better)

The Orange Chicken was highly enjoyable!

The Szechuan Beef was so tasty, too!

My Phortune Cookie that told me all my hard work would soon pay off- hooray for me!

I enjoyed some late night popcorn as we watched the phirst Bourne movie (I know, I am SO behind the times…)

Tues, Sept 27

Adorable little melon from the Pharmers Market (which I try to avoid talking about now after making too many awkward comments about the woman at the market with the delicious little melons), cheese curds and rye bread with spun honey

Chicken Salad lunchbox from Nugget, my new phavorite grocery store- seriously, the place is amazing!

Phig  Phiesta

Made dinner for The Phella…

Homemade rye croutons on our salad 🙂

A pheeble attempt at healthy breaded pork (I have a LOT to learn about cooking pig that isn’t in bacon phorm…), green beans and green cauliflower mash

Wednesday, Sept 28

Another one of those delicious little melons, cheese curds and a poached egg on toast

More homemade egg drop soup- this time with corn- not as good as the one I made on Monday

For those of you who haven’t known me for that long, or have not yet had the pleasure of my company, I am a borderline obsessed phan of the Nathan’s Phamous Hot Dog Contest that blesses our country each Phourth of July.  I plan my day around it each year and can give you an inappropriately in-depth run down of the entire roster of top tier competitive eaters (Eater X… if you’re ever interested, I will ditch The Phella for a night… just sayin’…)  So when I saw Nathan’s Phamous brand pickles in the store, I was incapable of resisting.

I met Navs, an old sorority sister, for drinks at Ella Dining Room & Bar.  What a great pick!  Not only did I get phree valet parking for checking in on Phoursquare, but the phood and atmosphere were awesome.  The company wasn’t too shabby either…

I was a bit skeptical when she ordered oysters, but I LOVED them.  Who knew mignonette could make such a difference?

The Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio was phairly amazing, too. (That is a heavenly poached egg perched atop the phish.)

And the meatballs in a cast iron dish weren’t too painful to eat either.

When I got back to Davis, The Phella had a hankering for phro yo, so I indulged.  Rather, I threw away, because I have a new phlavor a chance without trying it and that was a major mistake.  Cloyingly sweet.  Never again.  Went in the trash.  End of story.

Thursday, Sept 29 started with some more delicious mini melon, cheese curds and a half an English muffin with peanut butter.

I phorgot to stop for lunch with seemingly unending delight that some call unpacking, but I had a mid-afternoon snack to help my eyesight.

I made Chicken Stir Phry at The Phella’s house for dinner.

And as quickly as the week started, it was already Phriday…

One Response to “I’m Officially a Schmuck!”

  1. kat November 5, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    WOW! You eat such amazing meals!!! Your photos are just perfect, I love them so much! That pad thai looks delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

