Week Two > Week One

16 Nov

On Saturday, October 8, I phled reality and joined some old phriends for a long overdue picnic at Tilden Park in Berkeley.

As illustrated in my previous post, I am a phirm believer that phood tastes better when shared.  I also happen to believe that this is increased exponentially when shared out of doors.  Why is this, you ask?  Much like how many licks it takes to get to the middle of a Tootsie Pop, the world may never know

I was having so much phun, I couldn’t help myself from taking a second helping of my Brussels sprouts and pistachio pasta salad.  The ladies loved it as well, and thus, my Brussels sprouts acclaim reigns supreme.

Upon my return to Davis that evening, The Phella and I, being the creatures of habit we tend to be, phound ourselves back at Taste of Thai for dinner.  While we ordered the same dish as always, we mixed it up and tried their appetizer sampler to start.

I had the leftovers for breakfast on Sunday morning straight out of the to-go box. Sometimes I’m phancy like that.

We tried the phamed Redrum Burger for lunch.  They didn’t seem all that busy, but the wait for two burgers and phries seemed to indicate otherwise.  I was impressed by neither the service nor the phood, and this was only exascerbated by the knowledge that In-N-Out was but a stone’s throw away… Additionally, their more interesting menu options have been crossed off, such as their ostrich burgers.  Me thinks this phun looking little joint may be past its prime sadly.

I made dinner at home, starting with a baby romaine salad with goat cheese and avocado.

We grilled some phlank steak and green onions and roasted red potatoes in my toaster oven.

It then dawned on me that Monday was quickly approaching, that little bastard.

And my new life started back up again… with a handful of grapes at my cubicle.

I brought my barley soup into the break room for lunch and made a wonderful discovery- a phellow that works in the row of cubicles across from me is a more diehard Giants phan than I am!  Phriend potential perhaps?

I had another one of the awesome pluots I got from Dave’s Pumpkin Patch in West Sacramento.  They had a great deal on Groupon for an organic produce box… well either it was an unbelievable deal or we were unbelievably phortunate that the day we went to pick up our produce, the girl working at the stand was misinformed and thought we’d purchased half the pharm…

Continuing in my swine saga, I attempted pork tacos for dinner.  Even The Phella, who will eat pretty much anything I make, admitted that this dish wasn’t one that necessarily needed a spot in the recipe rotation.  He was being kind.  They were truly terrible.  The salsa, however, that consisted of a small portion of the glut of produce we had picked up at Dave’s, was not embarrassing.  Not great, mind you, but not nearly at the level of phailure the tacos secured.

Since dinner was so awful, the phrozen yogurt at SugarPlum after dinner was guilt-phree.  I had taro again (this stuff is ridiculously good) and topped it off with some coconut.  Y.U.M.

Yay for Tuesday, or as I like to remember it as the day I proved that I could successfully set my coffee maker timer the night before for a full week.  Coming from the girl who has owned said coffee maker for going on six years or so and having used it all of twice that I can remember, this is a very big deal… an anniversary if you will.  So yay for me… and my Morningstar “sausage”.

I tried some baked granny smith apple chips that I picked up at the Nugget- pretty tasty and healthy as phar as anything that resembles a chip.

I am quickly learning that phree phood at my new office is the rule more than the exception… and they use pretty solid caterers.  This tasty salad sando combo hailed from Pluto’s, a place I’d been told about prior to moving to Davis.

Of course, they HAD to have oatmeal cookies right next to the salad…  and now that I live hours away from The Most Delicious Cookies in the World, I was powerless to resist.  Ph you, willpower!

Pluot afternoon nibble

I reverted to my soup habit and made egg drop soup for dinner.

Wednesday started with PacMan-esque cheese.

Nectarine mid-morning snack

… and more phree phood for lunch!

Apple chips in the afternoon

In an attempt to lessen the amount of tomatoes in my kitchen (I had ten pounds to phind use for from that produce box), I attempted homemade tomatoe sauce, courtesy of a phood blog I enjoy, Chez Pim.  It was phine, but nothing to write home about.  I am sure it is much tastier when she makes it…

Thursday… Nectarine and “sausage” and coffee in my Sexy Chick mug (originally a cherished gift from my old bowling league buddies that met an untimely demise, only to have The Phella track down a replica for me… maybe that’s why I keep thinking he’s a keeper!).

More. Phree. Phood.  And it was more pizza!

I did everything I could to resist another piece in the afternoon.  Well, I did everything except ACTUALLY resist it.

I made dinner at The Phella’s house using more of our produce box contents.

I’m not quite sure why I decided Coq au Vin was the right choice for a casual weeknight dinner, but whatever.  Eating at almost 9pm made it pheel that much more Phrench!

Phriday! Grapes and nostalgia for breakfast…

The last of the last leftovers of barley soup made itself lunch, along with its yummy plummy phriend.

String cheese to get me through the afternoon…

… And a special Oktoberfest dinner at Little Prague to phinish off week two. (I am happy to report that this was leaps and bounds better than their Eggs Phlorentine I wrote about in my last post.)

The Phella and I topped off our wild and crazy Phriday night with a rousing game of Scrabble (I won, of course… I wouldn’t like the game so much if I didn’t always win!) and a sugar-phree Creamsicle.

Week two > Week one = Michelle + slightly happier

(And people think I can’t do math!)

4 Responses to “Week Two > Week One”

  1. Laurie November 17, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    Glad to hear you are settling in! And happier 🙂

  2. Erika November 17, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    I second the above comment….and flushed with pride at the cookie mention. 😉

  3. kat November 19, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Everything always looks so good! You take the most gorgeous photos! I seriously need to learn from you 🙂

    • phabulousness November 19, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Awww, thanks! Practice makes perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

