New Year, New Phocus!

9 Jan

Oh, my phaithful phollowers, how I have missed you!

It’s been a phull holiday season for this lazy blogger… complete with a bit of dieting, a lot of overindulgence, a cruise to the Mexican Riviera, a phamily death and a new phour-legger being added to the mix… but I digress.

Time for a  new year and a new phocus!

Y’all rocked it in regard to responses from my last post- that poll was really helpful!  While the overwhelming (and phabulous) majority of you voted to keep phoodfotos as it is, a phairly significant percentage asked for more recipes and such.  You guys actually want me to cook???

This would be me... if I had an oven.

Obviously, herein lies the benefit of experiencing what I eat virtually instead of physically (unless The Phella is reading this… if so, then my apologies my dear, sweet boy and God bless you for your strong stomach and seemingly unending appetite!) – my skills in the kitchen have REALLY deteriorated over the years.  But no more!  I am ready to take on the kitchen phull stop.  I will beat, whisk, chop and [not bake] it into my slave.

Here’s the new spin… wait for it, wait for it… (are you doing one of those annoying drum roll noises right now?)… I’m going to phocus on dropping the phat and becoming exponentially phabulous.  Now, I don’t mean phat as in cool, because clearly I will always be that (in my own mind if nowhere else)… but phat as in the thirty odd extra pounds of crapola I’m hauling around.

Enough is enough.

Less phat, more phab will be my 2012 mantra.

I can do this… with your help.

Inspired by this (and the phact that the Bridesmaid’s Diet is searched almost every day on my blog), the phollowing poll contains an assortment of popular diets.

Today, The Phella and I are starting the Special K Challenge together to get things started.  For the next two weeks, I will be documenting that process (after updating you (with help from my new laptop!) on the rest of November and December’s phood consumption… which, if I do say so myself… really went out with a bang thanks to the 24-hour pizza and phrozen yogurt bar on our cruise!)

Sadly, this is no longer considered a viable solution to cruise buffets. Pity...

By Phebruary, I will start with one of the diets you pick and try it for one month.  If I don’t absolutely phall in love with it, I will switch to a new one the next month, and so on.  I will read up on each one, teach you what I learn and pherret out delicious recipes, because I believe phirmly that with proper planning (and enough hot sauce), healthy phood CAN actually be enjoyable.  Part of me just wrote that so I could try to believe it… that whole goals are more successful when you write them down concept and all that jazz…

Looks like a balanced meal to me!

So my catch up posts are headed your way this evening, but speak now or phorever hold your peace!  Until then, I’ll be enjoying my cereal.

…and P.S.  Not a single person mentioned by PH abuse.  Thus, the phloggings will continue until morale improves!

7 Responses to “New Year, New Phocus!”

  1. Hans January 9, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    I bet you will never guess what I voted for!

  2. lisa January 9, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    I voted for both the Paleo and Mediterranean. Mostly because both a much more lifestyle focused and I switch between the two now-periods of including legumes/whole grains (although I try to stay away from gluten these days)

    • lisa January 9, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      (Stupid cell phone posting before I wanted to)
      As I was saying, both are much more lifestyle focused as opposed to strict “diets” and both focus on whole foods that are good for you anyways.

      I switch between the two with periods of eating legumes and whole grains (though I stay away from gluten if I can) and not. Both options will likely make you feel/look pretty good and more energetic

      Okay, now I am ready to post!

  3. Erika January 9, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Haha, betcha can guess which one I picked?
    (I can help you with more recipes too, if you go Kind!)

  4. Tom Berg January 9, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Gotta hand it to Michelle, you are amazing (and already solo fabulous). I just began a month long vegan experiment so I voted for you to join me! Whether or not it works out that way, I’ll be reading all about your travails and successes.

  5. Jenn A. January 10, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Good luck with the Special K Challenge! Remember to have lots of interesting fruits and veggies around to munch on!

    • phabulousness January 10, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Thanks for the tip! Today, I have a pear, grapefruit and carrots at the ready!

Leave a Reply

